//
You're Reading...
Book Reviews, Posts

Stepping into the HYPE of Harry Potter!

When I was in fourth/fifth grade I had this friend who LOVED the Harry Potter series. He did his women’s history month project on JK Rowling, praised it to the moon and back, and basically worshipped the series. I’m sure he reread those 3-4 books until they fell apart!

As I grew up I realized a lot of people liked Harry Potter, possibly everyone except me (because I hadn’t read it). Fast forward many years later and I figured it was about time I check this series out!

121121

Now, in case you’ve been living under a rock (don’t worry, I don’t judge, I live under one too), I’ll give a quick summary of this book:

11 year old Harry Potter has grown up constantly abused (mentally and physically), by the Dursleys (his mom’s family), ever since he was left on their doorstep the day his parents died. One day, while going to get the mail, he notices he’s received a letter, which is immediately confiscated by his uncle, and nothing he says will get him to return it.

The next day the same thing happens. And the next.

Every day Harry receives a letter, the Dursley’s confiscate them. Of course, nothing they do stop Harry from finally opening that letter, finding out he’s a wizard, and attending Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry, where he meets great friends and overcomes great trials.


Going into the HP series I had high expectations because everyone LOVES these books. I’ve watched the movies and also love the world but wanted to read the books because of hype. Considering it’s the first book, it’s not all that great but that’s me saying this because I know what other adventures await Harry and his friends.

From just the first chapter I was instantly hooked. I really liked how everything was set up and how I could see all the characters in my mind, the descriptions were fun, and some of them disgusting (which was the point). I really enjoyed the interaction between the characters, especially how Hermione wasn’t initially part of the trio. For some reason I had blanked out on this little fact and it was nice to see their meeting once again.

Even though Fred and George didn’t have much ‘screen time’ I was still reminded of why I loved them and I can’t wait to see them again! Not to mention Molly, she’s such a beautiful woman :”)

I do think the ending was a bit rushed, but in a way I also didn’t care because I’d watched the movie. If I hadn’t watched it maybe I would have been more upset because they just breezed through every trial and I guess I had wanted it to be drawn out a bit more. I think everything just happened in a couple pages

Can’t wait to check out the rest of the series!

About crimson613

I write stuff and sometimes people read my posts.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Stepping into the HYPE of Harry Potter!

  1. I agree! Of course I watched all the films from the moment that the first movie came out when I was a kid, but it wasn’t until about 2 years ago that I decided to read the books, and only because my little sister asked me if I had the books so she could borrow them. I didn’t have the books, but it got me thinking and I decided to buy them and read them. I’m so glad that I decided to read them. So awesome!

    Liked by 1 person

    Posted by Arria Cross | November 10, 2016, 10:35 am
  2. I loved these books from the age of 12, one of the wonderful things about them was that the books grew up with the readers as much as the other way round. I’ve been rereading them and I just started the third, The Prisoner of Azkaban. As much as it was lovely to revisit the first two for nostalgic reasons, JK’s writing got a lot better as she went along with the series. You have so much to look forward to, I’m kind of jealous that you get to read them for the first time!

    The books and movies will always hold special memories for me. And Snape’s revelations with Lily in the Deathly Hallows Part 1 film will destroy me every single time. I’m getting ready for the blubberload when I get to that part in the books.

    Liked by 1 person

    Posted by Elisabeth O'Neill | November 19, 2016, 4:05 am
    • i wasn’t into reading back when i was a kid otherwise i think i would have been taken away by it too. i have heard that her work gets better which i kind of assumed, it wouldn’t be good if it didn’t lol

      ahhh, i guess i won’t be able to get that since i’m already way older than the character are D: though i’m sure it’ll still be awesome to see them grow

      i’m still on the second book for blogging purposes, otherwise i would have already been on that one too xD

      i’m actually really excited about learning more about harry’s parents! i watched all the movies but felt they didn’t go over them as much as i’d liked and am crossing my fingers that in the books they give more info! i guess it’s because they’re not the MCs that i’m sort of obsessing over them Lol!

      it also helps i have a terrible memory. i’ll be reading these now for the first time and in like 2-3 years i could do it again ^^;

      Liked by 1 person

      Posted by crimson613 | November 19, 2016, 1:11 pm
  3. I love Harry Potter so much! For me, it’s been such a big part of my childhood and helped me realise my true book geekiness! I’m glad you have finally discovered the wonderful world of Harry Potter! Happy New Year! Xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    Posted by alwaysopinionatedgirl | December 31, 2016, 8:53 pm
  4. I’m so glad you’re finally reading them, it’s my favourite series in the entire world! They definitely get better and better from here on, I agree about the challenges being a bit rushed. I just have so many feelings about this series, I am OBSESSED 🙂
    (commenting from #eotybh chat)

    Liked by 1 person

    Posted by Victoria | January 1, 2017, 1:59 am

Leave a Reply

November 2016
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 519 other followers

Archives

Categories

