Logan: Possibly the Best Movie I’ve Seen In Theatres

Hey guys! So the other day I went to the theatres with my brother to watch Logan because he’d been wanting to see it for awhile now. Since it was Tuesday and we’re premier members, we got $5 off our tickets PLUS he paid for the popcorn and pop. How could I say no?

Like all the other DC/Marvel stuff, I’ve never watched the previous movies so if I’m confused about something and you think it’s because I didn’t watch the others, let me know!

logan

So I normally write out my own summary but I wasn’t too familiar with the characters so I figured I’d just nab the one from imdb

In the near future, a weary Logan (Hugh Jackman) cares for an ailing Professor X (Patrick Stewart) at a remote outpost on the Mexican border. His plan to hide from the outside world gets upended when he meets a young mutant (Dafne Keen) who is very much like him. Logan must now protect the girl and battle the dark forces that want to capture her


When the movie started I whispered to my brother, Isn’t he supposed to be the good guy? He’s not being very hero-like. I honestly don’t know too much about his character but I was pretty sure he was supposed to be a hero, except he wasn’t acting like one. He killed a bunch of thieves (granted they did try to kill him first) and he was a drunk. His personality was awful with his friends, he started trouble without thinking of the consequences, and he just seemed to be really depressed

But instead of feeling completely annoyed with him, I was curious. What had happened for him to be like this? It was alluded throughout the movie that Logan and Professor X hurt people and they were now riddled with guilt. It really set itself apart from other Marvel/DC movies I watched and I thank the R-rating for that. It just felt more natural with all the gore and swearing, and I even chuckled at the scene where Logan starts shouting “Fuck” because everything’s getting to him (it’s something I’d do, ahaha)

logan

We also end up meeting the little girl, Laura, and part of me gave an annoyed sigh. I don’t really like child actors because their acting isn’t generally good. They’re awkward and can’t really show those emotions they’re supposed to. But of course, these thoughts were completely blown away when I saw more of Laura. I ended up really loving the scenes she appeared in, especially when she was a violent little munchkin. I really thought she pulled off the innocent looking but actually dangerous plus naive persona well

I was pretty upset at the ending, but apparently it wasn’t a surprise if you follow the actors. It wasn’t bad but this movie seems to set the stage for the new generation (aka Laura and the other kids) and I wasn’t ready to let go

Overall, I really enjoyed how everything just flowed. There were funny scenes, sad scenes, really good fight scenes, and an interesting story. The only real issue I had with it was the scene where Professor X insists they stay with a family for dinner and then the night. I know I was screaming the whole time, You’re being followed how can you be so inconsiderate! 

Oh, and there was a surprising amount of Spanish in this movie and no subtitles! I don’t mind since I can understand it but I wondered if others didn’t feel like they were missing something

My family is going to go watch this again this weekend and yes, I think it’s worth it

Leave a Reply

