Love Actually

And here comes another movie! I picked this movie up because Martin Freeman was in it and I swear, it’s been awhile since I last screamed at my computer because of secondhand embarassment. Laughing too, lots of laughing. Usually my go to for these feelings is fanfiction and god, my face, I was not expecting all this

Love-Actually-Gallery-2

Love Actually is a Christmas romantic comedy where we follow the lives of quite a few people just weeks before Christmas. The thing that ties them all together being love (and mutual acquaintances) 


Before I start talking about how much I liked this movie, can I just mention the cast in this film was so unexpected. I think I only watched a few minutes and was already left mouth gaping because Liam Neeson, Snape, and Chiwetel Ejiofor!! I swear these guys are from action movies and to see them being normal people with normal feelings and normal lives was so weird. There was also another actor, the one who does the Prime Minister and for the whole movie I was trying to figure out where I remembered him from. Two hours later and I still couldn’t figure it out (but he had an awesome and hilarious dance scene)

tumblr_mfmuyzyscb1r0p7xuo6_250

Aside from my sudden fascination with all these actors I never thought I’d see together in a movie, I was also really enjoying the stories being told. At first I was like, why are we getting all of this? I’m used to only following 2-3 people in a movie but here we had like 10 relationships. But thinking back to the opening, it made sense

Whenever I get gloomy with the state of the world, I think about the arrivals gate at Heathrow Airport. General opinion’s starting to make out that we live in a world of hatred and greed, but I don’t see that. It seems to me that love is everywhere. Often, it’s not particularly dignified or newsworthy, but it’s always there – fathers and sons, mothers and daughters, husbands and wives, boyfriends, girlfriends, old friends. When the planes hit the Twin Towers, as far as I know, none of the phone calls from the people on board were messages of hate or revenge – they were all messages of love. If you look for it, I’ve got a sneaky feeling you’ll find that love actually is all around

Personally, I feel like all we ever get in the news and media is violence nowadays (and we even prefer it). I especially prefer to watch action packed movies with some kind of danger and playing more violent games, so seeing this, where the point of it was just to show love and normal people was sort of refreshing in a way. Even some of the romance stuff I watch have so much drama involved but here I felt I could say I know a Natalie or a John or a Mark with similar circumstances as these people

And I liked how all the circumstances were different and weren’t (all) about sex and lust

We had a little kid who was bonding with his father after his mother’s death, coupled with him trying to get the attention of a girl he liked at school. It was really cute and sweet. We also had something a bit more depressing, like the story of a married couple who was being isolated because the husband had interest in a younger woman (don’t think they ever actually did anything though). The more passionate emotions of the PM and his secretary (I think that’s what she was), and a writer and his non-English speaking housekeeper

Love-Actually

There were stories I could have done without, like Colin’s. He was a single guy who believed he was a Sex God and he ended up moving to the US because American girls would totally want him there because of his British accent. It actually seems to happen and I’m just facepalming because really? I mean, if he’d been cuter I could understand but no (LOL) #accentkink?

And it pains me to say it but John (Martin Freeman) and Judie’s relationship didn’t really have much screen time and I feel like it wasn’t necessary. Or maybe if there had been just a bit more to them, even just them on a date. They were hilarious scenes but there were only 5 of them and each lasted like 2 minutes at most. But yeah, I loved seeing him, he was so cute!! That part where he jumped from the stairs, all happy #cries


Overall I really enjoyed this movie and even though there wasn’t a lot of Martin Freeman, it’s ok. I really got absorbed in the stories of these people and how realistic they were. I liked that we saw love in a passionate way but also as unrequited, granted, and timid. We saw love between family members, between people with language barriers, and friends. I had a lot of fun laughing at many moments throughout the movie and trying to contain my secondhand embarrassment (failed epically but fun nonetheless). I was a bit confused at the end where we have the one month time skip. All the characters are at the airport and I’m just trying to figure out where they came from. Some of them I can imagine, like Colin going back to the US and the PM having business outside the country, but Harry? Maybe it’s because I don’t get it, but it felt like a way to connect the beginning and end setting

If I had to rate this, I’d say it gets a 7/10 for Good. If I were the type to watch Christmas movies for Christmas, I would probably add this to my list (unless there are kids in the house because there is nudity in here)

Leave a Reply

