Atomic Blonde (2017)

God, how lucky is it that I don’t have to pay for movies when I want to watch them. Otherwise I’m sure I would have been a bit more disappointed with my visit this weekend

AtomicBlonde-2

Atomic Blonde was one of those movies I was really excited about watching. It starred a kickass woman who was out on a mission (what mission, I had no idea what when I watched the trailer), who was good at hand to hand combat, and who had really cool white hair. Guys, white hair is one of my weaknesses (remembers all the white haired anime boys in my life)

So what is this movie about?

Sensual and savage, Lorraine Broughton is the most elite spy in MI6, an agent who’s willing to use all of her lethal skills to stay alive during an impossible mission. With the Berlin Wall about to fall, she travels into the heart of the city to retrieve a priceless dossier and take down a ruthless espionage ring. Once there, she teams up with an embedded station chief to navigate her way through the deadliest game of spies.

I went to watch this movie after work and I’m not entirely sure if the reason I closed my eyes for longer than a second was because I was tired of my morning shift or because this movie was truly boring. Yes I did get the action packed scenes of Lorraine exchanging blows with Germans but there was something missing, something that would have made me excited and feel for this woman. It might have been because she was so blank faced

atomic-blondetumblr_omj5ovZYgK1rrkahjo2_540

I also think it might have been because of the way the film was shot (it was so blue, blue is not cool, makes it so cold) and how the story was told. In terms of how it was shot, because it was so blue, night scenes were hard to see. There was a scene in the movie where Lorraine is bathing in ice water and we see the expanse of her back. It’s supposed to be full of bruises and some I was able to see but for the most part, the contrast was very low and it even looked grainy at some points

atomic-blonde-movie-charlize-theron-bathtub

Adding to this the timeline was a bit jarring at the start. I wasn’t exactly sure when this bath scene was happening (was it after the whole Berlin events, which I didn’t realize had happened until after?). Basically the whole movie is a recounting by her to her superiors, who had sent her into Berlin to retrieve a list with classified information. It was said to be in a watch stolen from a deadman. Additionally, she had to uncover the identity of a double agent known as Satchel and bring her superiors proof of their treachery

And since I’m already mentioning things I didn’t like, let me say that I HATED the text. So much. I hardly ever think about fonts but the whole graffiti stuff letting us know the timeline and place was so annoying I wanted to scream. There was nothing I could really tie the graffiti to and I think that’s one of the reasons I felt it was so off

atomic-blonde-movie-sofia-boutella_3qqm

One thing I did like about the movie though was Sofia Boutella (who I mentioned was the one good thing about The Mummy). Sofia Boutella played Delphine, a French operative and Lorraine’s love interest. I really liked her personality and how it was flirty, full of life, and just so warm. Suffice to say I was not happy at the end of the movie

And speaking of love interests, I really liked how their relationship just was. There wasn’t really a question about it and when Lorraine asks David (her contact in Berlin) why Delphine was following her, David mentions it must be because she’s attractive. In a sense, it’s an answer I would expect if it were a straight couple, not so much from a possibly lesbian relationship (which did indeed turn into one). Like, why is she following me? I don’t know, maybe she’s trying to kill you or spy on you

In terms of the plot and ending, it wasn’t hard to guess what would happen, though it was impressive


PROS

+ Lorraine and Delphine’s relationship (my favorite being the cuddle scene!)

+ Nice action scenes (hand to hand mostly)

+ Soundtrack fit well (some parts better than others)

NEUTRAL

~ Story is OK. Nothing special

CONS

– The way the story is told is a bit jumbled at the start

– The blueness of the film makes it feel cold and unattached in atmosphere. In visuals, the contrast is low

– The graffiti font was so annoying

– With the exception of Boutella, the acting wasn’t anything special. I never really felt like I should be cheering for Lorraine, if only because she was the main character


Overall I did feel disappointed in the movie. I really wanted to find something to be excited about so I could rate it higher but couldn’t. Final rating of 5/10 for passable, don’t watch in theatres unless your curiosity is killing you

Leave a Reply

